Send by email

your name: email to: message:
Username: Email: Password: Confirm Password:
Login with
Confirming registration ...

Edit your profile:

Country: Town: State:
Gender: Birthday:
Email: Web:
How do you describe yourself:
Password: New password: Repite password:

Friday, April 27, 2018

Chivas win sets Mexico in Concacaf history

Por MRod

Chivas' victory against Toronto FC gave it the first Concacaf title in 56 years, as it won in 1962 when beating Guatemala 6-0 on aggregate, but that trophy also allowed the squad to keep Mexico alive: 13 consecutive years rising with the CONCACAF Champions League. That number cannot be equaled in the rest of the leagues.

The last champion that was not Mexican and raised the cup of this confederation was Deportivo Saprissa in 2005, when defeating Pumas in the Final by a 3-2 aggregate score. A year earlier, Alajuelense represented CONCACAF in the World Club Cup, defeating Saprissa. Since 2004 at least one Mexican team has participated in the final series for the title. There is not such an overwhelming streak in the area during the history of the tournament; the next longest streak of winning the title consecutively for a country also belongs to Mexico, with four titles between 1968 and 1971.

Mexico's dominance in CONCACAF tournament titles totals 33 since 1962, when the tournament became international. They are followed by Costa Rica with six titles, El Salvador with three and Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, the United States, Trinidad and Tobago and Suriname (with the Transvaal) with two trophies. In the 12 years that Mexico has taken the tournament, it is important to notice the three championships of Monterrey, which won the title from 2011 to 2013. America also adds three titles; 2006, when the current run of Mexican victories in CONCACAF started, and the titles in 2015 and 2016. Pachuca also has a 'bi' and four cups in this period: 2007, 2008, 2010 and 2017. Atlante (2009) and Cruz Azul (2014) complete the list with a title.

According to ESPN, Mexico's dominance in the tournament is unprecedented; In Conmebol, the Copa Libertadores has not been won by the same country on more than four consecutive occasions, the last one from 2010 to 2013 by Brazilian clubs (Internacional, Santos FC, Corinthians and Atlético Mineiro). Before, between 1972 and 1975, Independiente monopolized it, representing Argentina and from 1967 to 70, it was also won by the Argentine Estudiantes, on three occasions and Racing one.

Argentina has won the tournament 24 times, leading the list by countries. In the UEFA Champions League, the longest streak is six years, for the English clubs. Liverpool, Nottingham Forest and Aston Villa dominated the football of the old continent from 1977 to 1982, winning three, two and one title respectively.

Real Madrid, representing Spain, from 1956 to 1960, won five cups, and is the second longest term. Iberians also currently have four consecutive champions, thanks to the three titles of Real Madrid and the win by Barcelona in 2015. The Spanish have raised this Cup 17 times, being the highest winners. I know you all be thinking that being Concacaf is nothing to be praised, but the stats prove otherwise.